Stubbys House of Christmas       
1.  Sleighride
2.  Wish List
3.  Wrestlemania Christmas
4.  Here Comes Santa Claus
5.  Rock Of Ages
6.  We Wish you A Merry Christmas
7.  Atheist Serf Holiday
8.  Bad Boy Christmas
9.  Latke Man
10. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
11. Grandma Johns


I've been very remiss in not posting this album sooner.   Rest assured, I LOVE The Yule Logs.  There are few bands, today, that approach the Christmas season with more energy and joy.  Known as "the hardest working band in snow business", The Yule Logs first rocked the holidays with their eponymous debut in 2009.  In 2010, they returned with "Walked With A Reindeer" and, this year, The Yule Logs strike again with "You Ruined Christmas".

"You Ruined Christmas" opens with a rocking "Sleighride" that sounds vaguely like one suspects Hermans Hermits would sound if they ever rocked this hard and sang Christmas songs.  The British Invasion is part of what The Yule Logs traditionally do, so the sound remains an undercurrent throughout, excepting "Rock Of Ages" which sounds more Pop Punk and "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" which plays a bit like a Fifties sock hop slow dance number.

One of the things I love about the Yule Logs is that they're not afraid to tackle Hanukkah tunes, and they give us two fine ones here in "Rock Of Ages" and the original "Latke Man" (Where were you guys last month when I needed some rockin' Hanukkah tunes?).  There's even a shout out to the unreligious with "Atheist Serf Holiday" (which is decidedly Cavern Club era Beatles).  

This is an awesome album from start to finish and, if you're a rock n roller, you're going to need this in your collection.  You can find the download version at many fine Internet retailers, but CD Baby has the actual CD if you're a hard copy fan like me.  "You Ruined Christmas" is on the fast track to the Essentials page, if you ask me (which, of course, you didn't).


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.

Leave a Reply